DRUNK REVIEW: The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni (The Prison Healer #1)

The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni (The Prison Healer #1)

Reviewed by Sam!

What I drank prior: I had a pretty shit week and then I was supposed to go to Sarah’s for a book/cookie aka bookie exchange and I was stoked… but then my sink decided to explode this morning and it was either wait for an after hours plumber ($$$) or wait for 3 days so I missed it. And THEN they didn’t show ANYWAY so I drank a lot. Makes sense right?

Goodreads Overview:

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer.

When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water, and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals.

Then a coded message from Kiva’s family arrives, containing a single order: “Don’t let her die. We are coming.” Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom.

But no one has ever survived.

With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva’s heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can’t escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun.

From bestselling author Lynette Noni comes a dark, thrilling YA fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, and Sabaa Tahir.

Drunk Overview: ok so we start with our MC, Kiva, who is the healer at this prison. She keeps her head down, does her work (which literally always is terrible), just waiting until her “sentence” which was actually her dad’s is over. All of a sudden this lady comes in, they call her the rebel queen, and she’s like comatose. That lady is supposed to go through some rite to show her innocence or something? And Kiva goes all Katniss and volunteers as tribute to go through the rites for her? Idk it’s weird.

Spoiler-free Thoughts: this is typical YA but sans love triangle which I don’t hate. I was very blah about this until literally the last sentence of the book and now I’ll read the next one so… there’s that.

Characters: I think the characters are very normal YA. The main character accidentally ends up the center of attention. There’s a broody but charming guy who is mysterious but also unignorable. Then there’s the kid that follows her around and he’s so very cute. And the guard who is sort of on her side. Again, none of these things should be a surprise to you, they weren’t for me. They all fall nicely into their role.

Plot: the plot, again, feels very hunger games but also furyborn since they’re sort of elemental? So, nothing super new here, except I can’t begin to tell you, I should not have been surprised by the last sentence but I 100% was. Those last 7-8 words (can’t remember the exact wording) are what will have me reading the next.

Writing Style: nothing super important to say here.

World Building: I think I understand what the world is like? But it’s hard to say that when we e literally only seen the prison and have been told what’s up outside. Hopefully we get more of the outside in the next books.

What to pair it with: this is like a chocolate cake shot. One of those ones that makes a lemon taste like chocolate? Cause I was not expecting the end.

Rating: 3/5 shots

Until next time, we remain forever drunkenly yours,
Sam

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s