DRUNK REVIEW: Gods & Monsters by Shelby Mahurin (Serpent & Dove #3)

Gods & Monsters by Shelby Mahurin (Serpent & Dove #3)

Reviewed by Sam!

Reviews for Book 1 and Book 2

What I drank prior: I’ve had so much to drink. I’m in Ann Arbor visiting Parker drinking everything none to man.

Goodreads Overview:

The spellbinding conclusion to the New York Times and IndieBound bestselling trilogy Serpent & Dove. This stunning fantasy take on French witches and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas.

Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one.

After a heartbreaking loss, Lou, Reid, Beau, and Coco are bent on vengeance more than ever before—and none more so than Lou.

But this is no longer the Lou they thought they knew. No longer the Lou that captured a chasseur’s heart. A darkness has settled over her, and this time it will take more than love to drive it out.

Drunk Overview: ok so this is the last book in this series and our mans just….. they just. I’m literally trying to come up with what’s upin the story and incant.w Coming back – Baiscally, Lou’s mom wants to sacrifice her to do something or other and Reid is like “naw” and Lou’smom wants to take over everything? I guess? Idk the risks seem v low.

Spoiler-free Thoughts: sup as you know I hate these books and I’ve only continued because I’m enjoying the hell out of drunk hate reviewing them.

Characters: these characters suck. Like legitimately are the worst and most don’t even know. Ok so let’s go from least important to most. Siele – she shows up for no good reason and brings nothing with her. Bo – the only pure soul in the bunch. CoCo… she’s like… fine. Her only purpose is to be a plot device for Lou. She has no agency, she has this tragedy about Ansel from the second book that we’re supposed to feel super bad for her about. Yes everything about Ansel is sad but like, he fucking loved you and you rejected him and he lost his life in the same war you all are fighting. Like, it was just a fucking pity party that had no depth like just stop. THEN there’s Reid. He’s still so fucked upp about his sexism and stupid protectiveness and ignoring his life. And oh, Lou. Lou is possessed by a stupid chick which drives Reid nuts. But Lou is ridiculously stubborn and there’s not character growth there.

Plot: WHAT PLOT?! Oh ‘em gee the world is gonna end and they have a plan. Such a typical YA trilogy end to a series and it upsets me so much

Writing Style: I listened on audio and id find myself zoning out and it didn’t matter. No a good sign.

World Building: There shouldn’t been world building in a trilogy but they tried real hard and it didn’t make any sense.

What to pair it with: BLANDEST BLAND THAT EVER BLANDED… aka a Bud Light.

Rating: 1/5 shots

Until next time, we remain forever drunkenly yours,
Sam

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s