DRUNK REVIEW: You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

Reviewed by GGGinny

What I drank:White wine, while playing video games. It was a delightful evening even if my cat did watch me judgmentally.

Goodreads Overview:

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars.

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

Drunk Overview: A soap opera star and a telenovela star were casted as the main characters in a Netflix knockoff drama. In addition to the attempt to transition, both actors are dealing with their individual baggage: he’s hiding his child becuase of a stalker years ago, she’s trying not to get too connected due to a history of being considered “clingy.” For obvious reasons, they both have trust issues.

Drunk Thoughts: Look this book hit a lot of my buttons in the best way. There’s something about a set that makes so many of the tropes work great! We had quasi-enemies to lovers, meddling families, a cute kid that actually feels like a kid, and both of the main characters who are heavily influenced by their families and cultures.

  • Okay, I forget people’s names, but the main lady was a badass, I really appreciated her journey.
  • Which leads me to the point that both of these characters are adults and I really appreciated the way they reacted/interacted when one person fucked up. The recognizing what went wrong with a situation afterwards is so REAL.
  • But again, I loved the family members in this book. Main lady’s cousins were an absolute delight (and I fully expect that the rest of the series will focus on them).
  • But main dude’s family was great too!
  • I also really liked where the film was set. While New York itself didn’t seem to play too hard into the whole thing, the fact that it was based in a film set and that most of the characters were living in a hotel really set off some of the other scenes.
  • Even if you’re living in a familiar place, staying in a hotel makes it feel like youre in a liminal space, which makes it easier to try to change who you actually are.
  • I also had fun with the plot of the show that they were filming. I can’t say I’d watch it in real life, but that’s because the only show I’ve legit watched in the last six months was MASH…. I’ve missed all of the other pop culture phenomenon.
  • I haven’t mentioned it yet, but the banter in this book was great. There were multiple moments where I was laughing out loud, or cheering character choices.
  • The ending of this book was exactly what I knew was going to happen,b ut the entire book leading up to it was so great that the emotional payoff was real.
  • I have a whole theory that there are two kinds of books: ones that have a twist and the suprrise is what brings that emotional payoff, and the ones that have enough character building that even though you have an idea of what’s going to happen, the tension still exists and you just want to KNOW.

What I’d Pair it With: Sangria. I want something that can be shared with friends, family, or loved ones of any kind. Something that’s meant to be joyous and fun. Also I just like Sangria

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s